The Great Earl Grey and Camomile Discovery of 2015

The time has come for me to confess to you, my fellow tea fans, that I have held on to two significant tea prejudices for far too long.

For years now, I’ve said I don’t like camomile and really don’t like earl grey tea. I loved strong, black tea from the get-go – still do! – and I think both camo & the earl were too flowery and perfumed for me when I first tried them eons ago. I’ve stuck to that ethos pretty vehemently until very recently…

How did I sway these long held beliefs?

Earl Grey, brewing beautifully in the Bodum teapot I was given for Christmas.

Earl Grey, brewing beautifully in the Bodum teapot I was given for Christmas.

I just tried it, my first cup of earl grey in a good long while. At a non-tea-drinking friends place for lunch over the Australia Day long weekend, the discovery that the only tea she had in the house was some leftover earl grey was momentarily horrifying. Oh what the heck, I thought, I’ll give it a go. I made a relatively weak cup, and it was actually pretty good. I even had a second cup!  It was still kind of perfumey, but I can see how there’s probably a perfect earl grey out there for me. And now I’m willing to give it a go.

As for my second revelation – you all know how I love my bedtime brew Sweet Dreams, yes? 

Well, it has camomile in it! SHOCK HORROR! I figured the other ingredients in the blend were covering the “terrible” chamomile. But then, on the hunt for a similarly relaxing tea to have during the day, I spotted Twining Camomile and Spiced Apple tea and even the box smelled delicious! Admittedly, again, its mixed with another strong delicious flavour, but I have to admit, it really is relaxing. And not as bad as I remember it either.

Both experiences have me reconsidering my long-held and oft-quoted dislike of both teas. Happily, its opened up a whole new world of flavours and teas for me to try. It’s also reminded me it certainly doesn’t hurt to revisit the things you thought you didn’t like – you never know what new loveliness will come your way if you do.

Are there any previously unloved teas you think you could give another go?

Leave a Reply

